On Tuesday, February 14th, 2023 Nepal-USA Chamber of Commerce and Industry (NUSACCI) organized back-to-back two programs: Interaction Meeting with Ms. Afreen Akhter, US Deputy Assistant Secretary and visiting delegates and “Exporter Awards Gala Valentine Dinner” at Hotel Radisson, Lazimpat, Kathmandu.

A brief interaction meeting with the chief guest of the event Ms. Afreen Akhter, Deputy Assistant Secretary and visiting delegates was organized by NUSACCI. The meeting covered three themes i) Key challenges Nepali business facing in Nepal-US trade; ii) Nepal-USA Trade: Opportunities, major issues and constraints and iii) How can the US government help? The meeting discussed on Nepal’s tourism sector for boosting Nepalese economy, capacity building in the IT sector and student visa issues, IPR, Hydro power/MCC, export of ready made garments and pashmina, high duty levied by USG on export of gold start shoes from Nepal, increasing duty of imports of TESLA cars from USA and virtual seminar on environmental technologies being developed in USA. Mostly, Nepal is exporting value added products to USA and it would help to strengthen Nepal’s economy. The meeting also drew attention to Ms. Akhter on the Nepal trade preferential program currently applies to a total of 77 tariff lines, including 56 textiles tariff lines, 10 leather and footwear tariff lines. However, 10 leather and footwear tariff lines are not included in the list of 77 items tariff lines.

From US Government sides Ms. Afreen Akhter led the team comprising Ms. Charlotte Volpe, Economic Officer, Ms. Jennifer VanDever, Control Officer, Mr. Raphael Sambou, Economic Officer and Mr. Abhishek Basnyat, Economic Specialist. On behalf of NUSACCI, the team is led by Mr. Kiran P. Saakha, President and other members attended in the meeting are: Mr. Birendra Rajkarnicar, Vice President; Prof. Dr. Gandhi Pandit, General Secretary; Mr. Sanjaya Agrawal, Treasurer; Mr. Rakesh Adukia, Executive Board Member; Mr. Prasidha B. Panday, Past President; Ms. Jolly (Mridula) Rajbhandhari, Member; Mr. Subrat Dhital, Member; and Ms. Vidushi Rana, member.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *